About Us

  • About us

Joburg Ballet

Joburg Ballet is a full-time, professional ballet company, resident at Joburg Theatre in the heart of Johannesburg.

Joburg Ballet’s repertoire includes full-length productions of major classical works, as well as shorter ballets, including original works created for the company by South African and international choreographers. The company presents three major seasons a year at Joburg Theatre, and also tours to other regions in South Africa and internationally.

The company provides a high standard of training for students via Joburg Ballet School and Academy, plus a comprehensive programme of community-based development and outreach work via its Satellite Schools, with emphasis on historically disadvantaged communities.

Joburg Ballet is committed to openness, wide-reaching engagement, accessibility and inclusivity, and to sharing its energy and creativity with audiences, dance teachers and arts practitioners in Johannesburg, South Africa and abroad.

It is dedicated to the growth and revitalisation of the great legacy of classical ballet and to the development of new choreographers, new works and new audiences from across South Africa. The company’s Chief Executive Officer is Esther Nasser and the Artistic Director is Iain MacDonald.

Board and Joburg Ballet Trust

Honorary Life Patron: Annzie Hancock
Patron: Tito Mboweni
Board of Directors: David Blyth, James Campbell (Chair), Ashley Hayden,
Iain MacDonald (Artistic Director), Mpumelelo Makhabela, Esther Nasser (CEO),
Grant Rogerson, Coenraad Visser
Trust: James Campbell, Mbali Dlamini, Biddy Faber, Annzie Hancock (Chair), Iain MacDonald,
Jenni Newman, Titi Sekhukhune

Our Dancers


Nicole Ferreira-Dill

Shannon Glover

Claudia Monja

Senior Soloists

Monike Cristina

Sanmarie Kreuzhuber

Kitty Phetla


Shana Dewey

Ivan Domiciano

Ruan Galdino

Leusson Muniz

Revil Yon

Senior Corps de Ballet

Armando Barros

Laurance James

Thabang Mabaso

Bruno Miranda

Ana Paulino

Corps de Ballet

Miles Carrott

Gabrielle Fairhead

Sikhumbuzo Hlahleni

Savannah Ireland

Alice Le Roux

Cristina Nakos

Mahlatse Sachane

Junior Corps de Ballet

Kyle Baird

Tumelo Lekana


Chloé Blair

Erica Vadelka

Our Staff

Senior Management

Esther Nasser

Chief Executive Officer

Iain MacDonald

Artistic Director

Kabelo Modiga

General Manager

Lauren Slade

Ballet Mistress


Haydee Baker

Wardrobe Co-ordinator

Chase Bosch

Company Manager

Keke Chele

Joburg Ballet School Co-ordinator

Kevin Hurter

Logistics Manager/Assistant to the CEO

Jonathan Hurwitz

Publications Administrator

Marina Korkie

Financial Accountant

Lerato Letlape

Assistant Stage Manager and Company Assistant

Emmanuel Madavha

Office Administrator and Company Driver

Kenny Mbele

Company Driver

Nozipho Mhlambi

School Co-ordinator and PA to CEO & Artistic Director

Edgar Moagi

Ticketing & Office Manager

Evancina Mokwebo

Head Seamstress

Fiona Walsh

PR & Publicity

Joburg Ballet Satellite Schools

Tshego Masoabi

Development Programme Teacher

Joanne Petersen

Development Programme Teacher